Top 10 Tuesday | Read in One Sitting

Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created at The Broke and the Bookish.

This week the topic is books you have read in one sitting or the shortest books you have read. I love this idea. I love hearing about shorter books because I like to put those on the back burner for when a reading slump happens and I want to get myself back into reading. Also I love hearing about books that have been read in one sitting because that means they were so good you could not put it down! I am going to do a mix of these two. Here is what is on my list!

Continue reading

Book Review | The Cutaway by Christina Kovac

30753708

The Cutaway by Christina Kovac
To be Published by: Atria on March 21st, 2017
Genre: Fiction, Mystery, Thriller, Suspense
Pages: 310
Format: ARC
Source: Courtesy of Simon and Schuster Canada

Goodreads | Amazon | BookDepositoryIndigo

Synopsis (from Goodreads): The Cutaway draws you into the tangled world of corruption and cover-up as a young television producer investigates the disappearance of a beautiful Georgetown lawyer in this stunning psychological thriller, perfect for fans of Paula Hawkins and Gillian Flynn.

When brilliant TV news producer Virginia Knightly receives a disturbing “MISSING” notice on her desk related to the disappearance of a beautiful young attorney, she can’t seem to shake the image from her head. Despite skepticism from her colleagues, Knightly suspects this ambitious young lawyer may be at the heart of something far more sinister, especially since she was last seen leaving an upscale restaurant after a domestic dispute. Yet, as the only woman of power at her station, Knightly quickly finds herself investigating on her own.

Risking her career, her life, and perhaps even her own sanity, Knightly dives deep into the dark underbelly of Washington, DC business and politics in an investigation that will drag her mercilessly through the inextricable webs of corruption that bind the press, the police, and politics in our nation’s capital.

Harkening to dark thrillers such as Gone Girl, Luckiest Girl Alive, and Big Little Lies, The Cutaway is a striking debut that will haunt you long after you reach the last page. Continue reading

Stacking the Shelves | #16

Stacking The Shelves is all about sharing the books you are adding to your shelves, may it be physical or virtual. This means you can include books you buy in physical store or online, books you borrow from friends or the library, review books, gifts and of course ebooks! Click here to go to Tyngas blog.

Truthwitch / Susan Denard / Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me? / Mindy Kaling / Somewhere in France / Jennifer Robson Continue reading

Book Review | Carve the Mark by Veronica Roth

Carve the Mark by Veronica Roth
Published by: Katherine Tegen Books on January 17th, 2017
Genre: YA, Science Fiction, Fantasy
Pages: 468
Format: eBook
Source: Borrowed from the library

Trigger Warning:  Self Harm

Summary (from Goodreads): Cyra is the sister of the brutal tyrant who rules the Shotet people. Cyra’s currentgift gives her pain and power — something her brother exploits, using her to torture his enemies. But Cyra is much more than just a blade in her brother’s hand: she is resilient, quick on her feet, and smarter than he knows.

Akos is the son of a farmer and an oracle from the frozen nation-planet of Thuvhe. Protected by his unusual currentgift, Akos is generous in spirit, and his loyalty to his family is limitless. Once Akos and his brother are captured by enemy Shotet soldiers, Akos is desperate to get this brother out alive — no matter what the cost.
The Akos is thrust into Cyra’s world, and the enmity between their countries and families seems insurmountable. Will they help each other to survive, or will they destroy one another?
Carve the Mark is Veronica Roth’s stunning portrayal of the power of friendship — and love — in a galaxy filled with unexpected gifts.  Continue reading

Book Review | Last Rituals by Yrsa Sigurðardóttir

1613280Last Rituals by Yrsa Sigurðardóttir
Published by: Willian Morrow on October 2, 2007
Genre: Adult, Mystery, Crime, Scandinavian
Pages: N/A
Format: Audiobook
Source: Borrowed from the library

Goodreads | Amazon | BookDepository | Indigo

Summary (from Goodreads): At a university in Reykjavík, the body of a young German student is discovered, his eyes cut out and strange symbols carved into his chest. Police waste no time in making an arrest, but the victim’s family isn’t convinced that the right man is in custody. They ask Thóra Guðmundsdóttir, an attorney and single mother of two, to investigate. It isn’t long before Thóra and her associate, Matthew Reich, uncover the deceased student’s obsession with Iceland’s grisly history of torture, execution, and witch hunts. But there are very contemporary horrors hidden in the long, cold shadow of dark traditions. And for two suddenly endangered investigators, nothing is quite what it seems … and no one can be trusted.  Continue reading

Top 10 Tuesday | Wishlist

Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created at The Broke and the Bookish.

The blog is currently on a mini hiatus but have posted a link up for those doing freebie topics today. I chose to do my Top 10 books that I wish to read once I can find them at a price my wallet likes or at the library.

The Hate U Give by Angie Thomas (YA/Contemporary/Fiction)

Strange the Dreamer by Laini Taylor (YA/Fantasy)

A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J Maas (YA/New Adult/Romance/Fantasy)

The Bronze Horseman by Paullina Simons (Romance/Historical Fiction/War) Continue reading

Book Review | Amy & Rogers Epic Detour by Morgan Matson

7664334Amy & Rogers Epic Detour by Morgan Matson
Published by: Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers on May 4th, 2010
Genre: YA, Contemporary, Romance
Pages: 344
Format: Paperback
Source: Purchased

Goodreads | Amazon | Book Depository | Indigo

Synopsis (from Goodreads): Amy Curry is not looking forward to her summer. Her mother decided to move across the country and now it’s Amy’s responsibility to get their car from California to Connecticut. The only problem is, since her father died in a car accident, she isn’t ready to get behind the wheel. Enter Roger. An old family friend, he also has to make the cross-country trip – and has plenty of baggage of his own. The road home may be unfamiliar – especially with their friendship venturing into uncharted territory – but together, Amy and Roger will figure out how to map their way.

Continue reading