Bout of Books 20 | Day 2

Continue reading

Posted in boutofbooks | Tagged , , , , | 1 Comment

Audiobook Review | Asylum by Madeleine Roux

Asylum by Madeleine Roux
Published by: Harper Audio on August 20th, 2014
Narrator: Michael Goldstrom
Genre: YA, Paranormal
Pages: –
Format: Audiobook
Source: Borrowed from the library

Goodreads | Amazon | BookDepository | Indigo

Summary (from Goodreads): For sixteen-year-old Dan Crawford, the New Hampshire College Prep program is the chance of a lifetime. Except that when Dan arrives, he finds that the usual summer housing has been closed, forcing students to stay in the crumbling Brookline Dorm—formerly a psychiatric hospital. As Dan and his new friends Abby and Jordan start exploring Brookline’s twisty halls and hidden basement, they uncover disturbing secrets about what really went on here . . . secrets that link Dan and his friends to the asylum’s dark past. Because Brookline was no ordinary mental hospital, and there are some secrets that refuse to stay buried. Continue reading

Posted in book review | Tagged , , | 1 Comment

Bout of Books 20 | Day 1

Continue reading

Posted in boutofbooks | Tagged , , , | Leave a comment

Stacking the Shelves | #24

Stacking The Shelves is all about sharing the books you are adding to your shelves, may it be physical or virtual. This means you can include books you buy in physical store or online, books you borrow from friends or the library, review books, gifts and of course ebooks! Click here to go to Tyngas blog.

eBooks

Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda / Becky Albertalli / Pivot Point / Kasie West / And Then There Were None / Agatha Christie / The Murder Complex / Lindsay Cummings / Defy the Stars / Claudia Gray Continue reading

Posted in book meme | Tagged , , , , , | 5 Comments

Friday Book Beginnings & the Friday 56 | #42

Friday Book Beginnings is hosted by Rose City Reader and the Friday 56 is hosted by Freda’s Voice.

So Friday Book Beginnings you choose the book you are currently reading or the one that is closest to you and share the first few sentences. For the Friday 56 you simply turn to page 56 or 56% on your e-reader and share a sentence or two that you enjoy. Then just add maybe a synopsis about the book in case others are interested. That’s it!

***

The Second Sister by Claire Kendal
Published: May 4th, 2017

Goodreads | Amazon

Summary (from Goodreads): The chilling new psychological thriller by Claire Kendal, author of the bestselling novel, THE BOOK OF YOU, which was selected for Richard and Judy in 2015. Perfect for fans of THE GIRL ON THE TRAIN and DISCLAIMER.

It is ten years since Ella’s sister Miranda disappeared without trace, leaving her young baby behind. Chilling new evidence links Miranda to the horrifying Jason Thorne, now in prison for murdering several women. Is it possible that Miranda knew him?

At thirty, Miranda’s age when she vanished, Ella looks uncannily like the sister she idolized. What holds Ella together is her love for her sister’s child and her work as a self-defence expert helping victims.

Haunted by the possibility that Thorne took Miranda, and driven by her nephew’s longing to know about his mother, Ella will do whatever it takes to uncover the truth – no matter how dangerous… Continue reading

Posted in book meme | Tagged , , , , | 15 Comments

Bout of Books 20 | Sign Up & Goals

Bout of BooksI love this read-a-thon. It’s the only one I remember to do and I believe the only one that I’ve actually participated in.  For those that don’t know what Bout of Books is… here you go:

The Bout of Books read-a-thon is organized by Amanda Shofner and Kelly @ Reading the Paranormal. It is a week long read-a-thon that begins 12:01am Monday, August 21st and runs through Sunday, August 27th in whatever time zone you are in. Bout of Books is low-pressure. There are challenges, giveaways, and a grand prize, but all of these are completely optional. For all Bout of Books 20 information and updates, be sure to visit the Bout of Books blog. – From the Bout of Books team

Like I said before this is the only one I seem to do. I have done it 4 times. For the Bout of Books 12 I managed to read 7 books and 2,107 pages! I am really hoping I am that successful this year as I am no where near a reading slump currently. Other years I was pretty consistent with #13 reading 2 books and 751 pages, #17 reading 1 book, 688 pages (and listening to 5 hours of audiobook!) and lastly #18 reading 2 books and 700 pages.

So my goals for this read-a-thon are Continue reading

Posted in boutofbooks | Tagged , , | 2 Comments

Another 10 WWII Historical Fiction Book Recommendations

Like a year and a half ago I posted “Ten World War II Historical Fiction Books I Need To Read And So Do You” and out of those 10 I’ve only read 5 but in my search for more WWII historical fiction books I’ve found a lot more that I thought I would share and ones that I’ve recently read. I don’t know what it is about this time period that has me so fascinated and I know I am not the only one with that. So many authors are able to take different aspects of it and make it their own. I also find that I learn about not so well known casualties/events that I wouldn’t have been aware of if I hadn’t read these. So here are 10 more World War II historical fiction book recommendations. Let me know below which are your favourites or other recommendations that I haven’t listed here.

Salt to the Sea by Ruta Sepetys

Goodsreads | Amazon | My Review

Winter, 1945. Four teenagers. Four secrets.

Each one born of a different homeland; each one hunted, and haunted, by tragedy, lies…and war.

As thousands of desperate refugees flock to the coast in the midst of a Soviet advance, four paths converge, vying for passage aboard the Wilhelm Gustloff, a ship that promises safety and freedom.

Yet not all promises can be kept.

Inspired by the single greatest tragedy in maritime history, bestselling and award-winning author Ruta Sepetys (Between Shades of Gray) lifts the veil on a shockingly little-known casualty of World War II. An illuminating and life-affirming tale of heart and hope. Continue reading

Posted in book recommendations | Tagged , | 2 Comments