Book Review | Blue is the Warmest Color by Julie Maroh

Blue is the Warmest Color by Julie Maroh
Published by: Arsenal Pulp Press on September 3rd, 2013
Genre: Graphic Novel, LGBTQ, Romance, Fiction
Pages: 156
Format: Electronic
Source: Borrowed from the Library

Goodreads | Amazon | BookDepository | Indigo

Summary (from Goodreads): Blue is the Warmest Color is a graphic novel about growing up, falling in love, and coming out. Clementine is a junior in high school who seems average enough: she has friends, family, and the romantic attention of the boys in her school. When her openly gay best friend takes her out on the town, she wanders into a lesbian bar where she encounters Emma: a punkish, confident girl with blue hair. Their attraction is instant and electric, and Clementine find herself in a relationship that will test her friends, parents, and her own ideas about herself and her identity. Continue reading

Book Review | The Diabolic by S.J. Kincaid

The Diabolic by S.J. Kincaid
Published by: Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers on November 1, 2o16
Genre: YA, Science Fiction, Space, Dystopia, Romance
Pages: 416
Format: eBook
Source: Borrowed from the library

Trigger Warning: Attempted rape

Goodreads | Amazon | BookDepository | Indigo

Summary (from Goodreads): Nemesis is a Diabolic. Created to protect a galactic Senator’s daughter, Sidonia. The girl who has grown up by her side and who is as much as sister as a master. There’s no one Nemesis wouldn’t kill to keep her safe. But when the power-mad Emperor summons Sidonia to the galactic court as a hostage, there is only one way for Nemesis to protect Sidonia.

She must become her.

Now one of the galaxy’s most dangerous weapons is masquerading in a world of corruption and Nemesis has to hide her true abilities or risk everything. As the Empire begins to fracture and rebellion looms closer, Nemesis learns that there is something stronger than her deadly force: the one thing she’s been told she doesn’t have – humanity. And, amidst all the danger, action and intrigue, her humanity might be the only thing that can save her, Sidonia and the entire Empire…  Continue reading

Book Review | A Thousand Pieces of You by Claudia Gray

A Thousand Pieces of You by Claudia Gray
Published by: Harper Teen on November 4, 2014
Genre: YA, Science Fiction, Fantasy, Romance
Pages: 360
Format: eBook
Source: Borrowed from the library

Goodreads | Amazon | BookDepository | Indigo

Summary (from Goodreads): Cloud Atlas meets Orphan Black in this epic dimension-bending trilogy by New York Times bestselling author Claudia Gray about a girl who must chase her father’s killer through multiple dimensions.

Marguerite Caine’s physicist parents are known for their groundbreaking achievements. Their most astonishing invention, called the Firebird, allows users to jump into multiple universes—and promises to revolutionize science forever. But then Marguerite’s father is murdered, and the killer—her parent’s handsome, enigmatic assistant Paul— escapes into another dimension before the law can touch him.

Marguerite refuses to let the man who destroyed her family go free. So she races after Paul through different universes, always leaping into another version of herself. But she also meets alternate versions of the people she knows—including Paul, whose life entangles with hers in increasingly familiar ways. Before long she begins to question Paul’s guilt—as well as her own heart. And soon she discovers the truth behind her father’s death is far more sinister than she expected. Continue reading

Book Review | The Bone Witch by Rin Chupeco

The Bone Witch by Rin Chupeco
Published by: Sourcebooks Fire on March 7th, 2017
Genre: YA, Fantasy, Paranormal
Pages: 400
Format: eBook
Source: NetGalley in exchange for an honest review

Goodreads | Amazon | BookDepository | Indigo

Summary (from Goodreads): The beast raged; it punctured the air with its spite. But the girl was fiercer.

Tea is different from the other witches in her family. Her gift for necromancy makes her a bone witch, who are feared and ostracized in the kingdom. For theirs is a powerful, elemental magic that can reach beyond the boundaries of the living—and of the human.

Great power comes at a price, forcing Tea to leave her homeland to train under the guidance of an older, wiser bone witch. There, Tea puts all of her energy into becoming an asha, learning to control her elemental magic and those beasts who will submit by no other force. And Tea must be strong—stronger than she even believes possible. Because war is brewing in the eight kingdoms, war that will threaten the sovereignty of her homeland…and threaten the very survival of those she loves. Continue reading

Book Review | The Cutaway by Christina Kovac

30753708

The Cutaway by Christina Kovac
To be Published by: Atria on March 21st, 2017
Genre: Fiction, Mystery, Thriller, Suspense
Pages: 310
Format: ARC
Source: Courtesy of Simon and Schuster Canada

Goodreads | Amazon | BookDepositoryIndigo

Synopsis (from Goodreads): The Cutaway draws you into the tangled world of corruption and cover-up as a young television producer investigates the disappearance of a beautiful Georgetown lawyer in this stunning psychological thriller, perfect for fans of Paula Hawkins and Gillian Flynn.

When brilliant TV news producer Virginia Knightly receives a disturbing “MISSING” notice on her desk related to the disappearance of a beautiful young attorney, she can’t seem to shake the image from her head. Despite skepticism from her colleagues, Knightly suspects this ambitious young lawyer may be at the heart of something far more sinister, especially since she was last seen leaving an upscale restaurant after a domestic dispute. Yet, as the only woman of power at her station, Knightly quickly finds herself investigating on her own.

Risking her career, her life, and perhaps even her own sanity, Knightly dives deep into the dark underbelly of Washington, DC business and politics in an investigation that will drag her mercilessly through the inextricable webs of corruption that bind the press, the police, and politics in our nation’s capital.

Harkening to dark thrillers such as Gone Girl, Luckiest Girl Alive, and Big Little Lies, The Cutaway is a striking debut that will haunt you long after you reach the last page. Continue reading

Book Review | Carve the Mark by Veronica Roth

Carve the Mark by Veronica Roth
Published by: Katherine Tegen Books on January 17th, 2017
Genre: YA, Science Fiction, Fantasy
Pages: 468
Format: eBook
Source: Borrowed from the library

Trigger Warning:  Self Harm

Summary (from Goodreads): Cyra is the sister of the brutal tyrant who rules the Shotet people. Cyra’s currentgift gives her pain and power — something her brother exploits, using her to torture his enemies. But Cyra is much more than just a blade in her brother’s hand: she is resilient, quick on her feet, and smarter than he knows.

Akos is the son of a farmer and an oracle from the frozen nation-planet of Thuvhe. Protected by his unusual currentgift, Akos is generous in spirit, and his loyalty to his family is limitless. Once Akos and his brother are captured by enemy Shotet soldiers, Akos is desperate to get this brother out alive — no matter what the cost.
The Akos is thrust into Cyra’s world, and the enmity between their countries and families seems insurmountable. Will they help each other to survive, or will they destroy one another?
Carve the Mark is Veronica Roth’s stunning portrayal of the power of friendship — and love — in a galaxy filled with unexpected gifts.  Continue reading

Book Review | Last Rituals by Yrsa Sigurðardóttir

1613280Last Rituals by Yrsa Sigurðardóttir
Published by: Willian Morrow on October 2, 2007
Genre: Adult, Mystery, Crime, Scandinavian
Pages: N/A
Format: Audiobook
Source: Borrowed from the library

Goodreads | Amazon | BookDepository | Indigo

Summary (from Goodreads): At a university in Reykjavík, the body of a young German student is discovered, his eyes cut out and strange symbols carved into his chest. Police waste no time in making an arrest, but the victim’s family isn’t convinced that the right man is in custody. They ask Thóra Guðmundsdóttir, an attorney and single mother of two, to investigate. It isn’t long before Thóra and her associate, Matthew Reich, uncover the deceased student’s obsession with Iceland’s grisly history of torture, execution, and witch hunts. But there are very contemporary horrors hidden in the long, cold shadow of dark traditions. And for two suddenly endangered investigators, nothing is quite what it seems … and no one can be trusted.  Continue reading