Book Review | The Bone Witch by Rin Chupeco

The Bone Witch by Rin Chupeco
Published by: Sourcebooks Fire on March 7th, 2017
Genre: YA, Fantasy, Paranormal
Pages: 400
Format: eBook
Source: NetGalley in exchange for an honest review

Goodreads | Amazon | BookDepository | Indigo

Summary (from Goodreads): The beast raged; it punctured the air with its spite. But the girl was fiercer.

Tea is different from the other witches in her family. Her gift for necromancy makes her a bone witch, who are feared and ostracized in the kingdom. For theirs is a powerful, elemental magic that can reach beyond the boundaries of the living—and of the human.

Great power comes at a price, forcing Tea to leave her homeland to train under the guidance of an older, wiser bone witch. There, Tea puts all of her energy into becoming an asha, learning to control her elemental magic and those beasts who will submit by no other force. And Tea must be strong—stronger than she even believes possible. Because war is brewing in the eight kingdoms, war that will threaten the sovereignty of her homeland…and threaten the very survival of those she loves. Continue reading

Book Review | The Cutaway by Christina Kovac

30753708

The Cutaway by Christina Kovac
To be Published by: Atria on March 21st, 2017
Genre: Fiction, Mystery, Thriller, Suspense
Pages: 310
Format: ARC
Source: Courtesy of Simon and Schuster Canada

Goodreads | Amazon | BookDepositoryIndigo

Synopsis (from Goodreads): The Cutaway draws you into the tangled world of corruption and cover-up as a young television producer investigates the disappearance of a beautiful Georgetown lawyer in this stunning psychological thriller, perfect for fans of Paula Hawkins and Gillian Flynn.

When brilliant TV news producer Virginia Knightly receives a disturbing “MISSING” notice on her desk related to the disappearance of a beautiful young attorney, she can’t seem to shake the image from her head. Despite skepticism from her colleagues, Knightly suspects this ambitious young lawyer may be at the heart of something far more sinister, especially since she was last seen leaving an upscale restaurant after a domestic dispute. Yet, as the only woman of power at her station, Knightly quickly finds herself investigating on her own.

Risking her career, her life, and perhaps even her own sanity, Knightly dives deep into the dark underbelly of Washington, DC business and politics in an investigation that will drag her mercilessly through the inextricable webs of corruption that bind the press, the police, and politics in our nation’s capital.

Harkening to dark thrillers such as Gone Girl, Luckiest Girl Alive, and Big Little Lies, The Cutaway is a striking debut that will haunt you long after you reach the last page. Continue reading

ARC Review | A Crown of Wishes by Roshani Chokshi

29939047A Crown of Wishes (The Star-Touched Queen, #2) by Roshani Chokshi
To Be Published: March 28th, 2017 by St. Martin’s Griffin
Genre: YA, Fantasy, Adventure, Magic, Romance, Mythology
Pages: 352
Format: eBook
Source: NetGalley in exchange for an honest review

Goodreads | Amazon | Indigo

Summary (from Goodreads): Gauri, the princess of Bharata, has been taken as a prisoner of war by her kingdom’s enemies. Faced with a future of exile and scorn, Gauri has nothing left to lose. Hope unexpectedly comes in the form of Vikram, the cunning prince of a neighboring land and her sworn enemy kingdom. Unsatisfied with becoming a mere puppet king, Vikram offers Gauri a chance to win back her kingdom in exchange for her battle prowess. Together, they’ll have to set aside their differences and team up to win the Tournament of Wishes—a competition held in a mythical city where the Lord of Wealth promises a wish to the victor.

Reaching the tournament is just the beginning. Once they arrive, danger takes on new shapes: poisonous courtesans and mischievous story birds, a feast of fears and twisted fairy revels.

Every which way they turn new trials will test their wit and strength. But what Gauri and Vikram will soon discover is that there’s nothing more dangerous than what they most desire [x]. Continue reading