Book Review | The Oracle Year by Charles Soule

The Oracle Year by Charles Soule
Published by: Harper Perennial on April 3rd, 2018
Genre: Fiction, Science Fiction
Pages: 416
Format: Paperback ARC
Source: Provided by my lovely friend at Harper Collins CA

Goodreads | Amazon | BookDepository | Indigo

Summary (from Goodreads): From bestselling comic-book franchise writer Charles Soule comes a clever and witty first novel of a twentysomething New Yorker who wakes up one morning with the power to predict the future—perfect for fans of Joe Hill and Brad Meltzer, or books like This Book Is Full of Spiders and Welcome to Night Vale.

Knowledge is power. So when an unassuming Manhattan bassist named Will Dando awakens from a dream one morning with 108 predictions about the future in his head, he rapidly finds himself the most powerful man in the world. Protecting his anonymity by calling himself the Oracle, he sets up a heavily guarded Web site with the help of his friend Hamza to selectively announce his revelations. In no time, global corporations are offering him millions for exclusive access, eager to profit from his prophecies.

He’s also making a lot of high-powered enemies, from the President of the United States and a nationally prominent televangelist to a warlord with a nuclear missile and an assassin grandmother. Legions of cyber spies are unleashed to hack the Site—as it’s come to be called—and the best manhunters money can buy are deployed not only to unmask the Oracle but to take him out of the game entirely. With only a handful of people he can trust—including a beautiful journalist—it’s all Will can do to simply survive, elude exposure, and protect those he loves long enough to use his knowledge to save the world.

Delivering fast-paced adventure on a global scale as well as sharp-witted satire on our concepts of power and faith, Marvel writer Charles Soule’s audacious debut novel takes readers on a rollicking ride where it’s impossible to predict what will happen next.

Review: A friend of mine kindly sent this book to me as an ARC to review. I picked this book out of the list as it seemed like an interesting concept. I shared the synopsis and author name with a colleague of mine and they were stoked to find out that Soule wrote a novel. His excitement definitely got me more pumped to read this one. I had it for a few months and sadly picked it up after it’s release date but I wish I picked it up sooner.

Will, a 20-something musician that lives in the US wakes up 1 day with 108 predictions about events that are going to happen in a 3 year time period. From there he enlists the help of his friend Hamza on how to go about dealing with these predictions. Should they keep them to themselves, sell them, or give them all to the public? The Site was created where 20 of those predictions went out into the world and everyone on the planet wanted to know who is The Oracle? How does he/she know all of this? It’s a pretty crazy idea thinking about how this would happen currently.

Throughout the novel as these predictions come true you meet a lot of characters that come in contact with these predictions and the story line. Some are good and some are bad. It’s interesting to see how all these different characters deal with it and how it all ties together in the end. I would say about half way through the novel it really picks up. I got into bed one night at the half way point and I couldn’t go to sleep without finishing the book!

I would definitely be interested in seeing this book turned into a movie. With all the plot points, twists/turns and how it all comes together in the end. I only wish the ending had more of a conclusion!

Rating:

FOLLOW ME

This entry was posted in book review and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

w

Connecting to %s