Friday Book Beginnings & The Friday 56 | #22

Friday Book Beginnings is hosted by Rose City Reader and the Friday 56 is hosted by Freda’s Voice.

So Friday Book Beginnings you choose the book you are currently reading or the one that is closest to you and share the first few sentences. For the Friday 56 you simply turn to page 56 or 56% on your e-reader and share a sentence or two that you enjoy. Then just add maybe a synopsis about the book in case others are interested. That’s it!

***
The Miniaturist
The Miniaturist by Jessie Burton
Published on: August 26th, 2014

Synopsis: Set in seventeenth century Amsterdam—a city ruled by glittering wealth and oppressive religion—a masterful debut steeped in atmosphere and shimmering with mystery, in the tradition of Emma Donoghue, Sarah Waters, and Sarah Dunant.

“There is nothing hidden that will not be revealed . . .”

On a brisk autumn day in 1686, eighteen-year-old Nella Oortman arrives in Amsterdam to begin a new life as the wife of illustrious merchant trader Johannes Brandt. But her new home, while splendorous, is not welcoming. Johannes is kind yet distant, always locked in his study or at his warehouse office—leaving Nella alone with his sister, the sharp-tongued and forbidding Marin.

But Nella’s world changes when Johannes presents her with an extraordinary wedding gift: a cabinet-sized replica of their home. To furnish her gift, Nella engages the services of a miniaturist—an elusive and enigmatic artist whose tiny creations mirror their real-life counterparts in eerie and unexpected ways . . .

Johannes’ gift helps Nella to pierce the closed world of the Brandt household. But as she uncovers its unusual secrets, she begins to understand—and fear—the escalating dangers that await them all. In this repressively pious society where gold is worshipped second only to God, to be different is a threat to the moral fabric of society, and not even a man as rich as Johannes is safe. Only one person seems to see the fate that awaits them. Is the miniaturist the key to their salvation . . . or the architect of their destruction?

Enchanting, beautiful, and exquisitely suspenseful, The Miniaturist is a magnificent story of love and obsession, betrayal and retribution, appearance and truth.

Beginning: The funeral is supposed to be a quiet affair, for the deceased had no friends. But words are water in Amsterdam, they flood your ears and set the rot, and the church’s east corner is crowded.
Page 56: Cornelia whistles. “That’s going to be pretty,” she says, glancing at Otto. “But it’ll fade. Like everything else.”
I really like this author’s writing style. I always put this book in my cart but when I go to check out I remove it. Last time I made an order on Book Outlet I kept it in my cart! A new book of hers has come out so this book is being brought up again when it is mentioned. I think that’s what made me finally do it.
Thoughts?
signature
This entry was posted in book meme, Friday Book Beginnings, The Friday 56. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Friday Book Beginnings & The Friday 56 | #22

  1. I hope to try this some day – it sounds great!

    Check out my Friday 56 (With Book Beginnings).

    Like

  2. I am curious about this one…great cover, and the premise captured my imagination. I am drawn to themes of love and obsession, betrayal and retribution, and appearance and truth. Thanks for sharing.

    Here’s mine: “GIRL ON THE RUN”

    Like

  3. This sounds like an excellent story. I like the 1686 Amsterdam setting.
    My Friday post features CHESTNUT STREET by Maeve Binchy.

    Like

  4. Kathy Martin says:

    This sounds like an interesting story. This week I am spotlighting Project Elfhome by Wen Spencer – a linked short story collection. Happy reading!

    Like

  5. fuonlyknew says:

    You just reminded me that I have this book and really wanted to read it. Dang my kindle. It’s just overflowing with books and some get forgotten.

    My Friday 56 from Doggone It

    Like

  6. Freda Mans says:

    I need to read this! 🙂 Happy Sunday!

    Like

  7. Nicole says:

    I have tried this two times. Despite loving the cover an the overall idea I have been unable to get into it. I hope you enjoy it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s